Guest Designer July | In The Scrap Blog

Hello everyone! I hope you’ve all had a great weekend. I have been quite busy taking care of things at home and tackling a list of fun projects, but had to stop by before the night is over because I have so many super awesome things going on right now.

Not only have I just started a new DT, but there’s more awesomeness!

I am delighted to be able to Guest Design for In The Scrap Blog this month of July.

Design-2017-06-29-12-54-43

I am very excited to be a guest with this awesome group of ladies. The owner of the blog is from Spain and most of the blog is written out in Spanish with a bit of English scattered around. That doesn’t take anything from the abundance of inspiration you will find on their blog! Their designers and layouts are always inspiring me to create my own stuff with their airy feels and loads of beautiful colors and photographs.

I’m feeling quite lucky to have been asked to guest design for them this month! I have taken on this month’s challenge and will be sharing two more projects later!

So I have taken on their challenge for July called “Sequencias”. This translates to “in succession”. It was a great challenge and definitely one to make you think on how you can create a unique layout!

reto_julio_secuencia1 (1).jpg

 

~

 

So, I have been inspired by this month’s challenge to create this layout:

HOORAY LO 1.jpg

I am not usually a multi-photo kind of scrapper but this month’s challenge of recording multiple matching photos inspired me to get out and create a fun layout that would challenge me to create something awesome. I think this layout perfectly captures this moment of my son on his first experience at the beach.

 

 

He had so much fun playing and eating the sand that I knew these photos would perfectly go with the challenge.

So I picked three photos from this trip and decided that I wanted to create a layout with the photos on the center of the page.

HOORAY LO 3.jpg

 

 

I first decided to cut out a strip of aqua patterned paper to place vertically in the middle of my white cardstock.

If you have followed my scrappy layouts before, you would know that I always work with a white base. It allows me to create without holding back and I love the white airy feel I get on every single one of my layouts.

 

I decided to have fun with my sewing machine and I stitched zig zag’s all the way down the strip of paper. I made sure to stitch with a bit of overhang to broaden that center paper column and allow space for my embellishing.

HOORAY LO 4.jpg

 

 

This created the perfect textured base to include my 3 photos and the fun embellishments. I am using mostly the Dear Lizzy Happy Place collection, but I also used some Felicity Jane papers I had from my stash and a few papers from the .

I decided to keep my photos on the center and beside each one I would add some fussy cut Beach themed icons from the Dear Lizzy collection patterned paper I was using.

They are so cute!

 

 

 

HOORAY LO 6.jpg

I added my title using a fussy cut Sun that says “Sunshine=Happiness” and a sticker that says “Hooray!”. I feel it goes perfect with my son’s face in the photographs!

HOORAY LO 7.jpg

To finish off my layout I added some yellow paint splatters around random parts of my page.

HOORAY LO 8.jpg

Finally, to bring it all together I added matching cardstock triangles to two of the corners opposite of each other. This always helps ground your photos and layout if you feel there is too much white and emptyness on your page.

HOORAY LO 9.jpg

That is it! I love this layout because I used some of my favorite colors, techniques, and photos of my son.

HOORAY LO 11.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed my take on the challenge this month: “Sequencias” and that you go out and give it a try yourself. Will you take on the challenge? I hope so!

Design-2014-07-07-05-10-23-1

HOORAY LO 1

 

Thanks for coming today and I will be back very soon! I have a few more surprises for the In The Scrap Blog coming this month so don’t forget to stop by at a later date.

Until then, stay scrappy friends!

IMG_2747

 

 

 

Design-2014-08-04-06-47-42-1

Leave a Reply

